» Music
» Lyrics

The Mookse & The Gripes (2018)

Mr. Smolin recites the Mookse & Gripes episode from James Joyce's Finnegans Wake to his own piano accompaniment, originally appearing in the Open Door Edition of the Wayword & Meansigns project

The Mookse & The Gripes--Piano Only (2018)

The solo piano track, no vocals, from Mr. Smolin's The Mookse & The Gripes.

The Sooterkin Library (2017)

Avant-freak 12-Tone Mongrel Psycho-Tonk For The Age Of Androgyny. Raw sewage straight from the brainus. A nonverbal response to Trump's America. Mr. Smolin on piano, Marc Doten on bass, Joe Berardi on drums.

That Tragoady Thundersday (2016)

Instrumental music created for Chapter 1 of James Joyce's novel Finnegans Wake as part of the Waywords and Meansigns project.

Mutt and Jute (2016)

A selection from Mr. Smolin's contribution to the 2nd Edition of the Waywords and Meansigns project setting James Joyce's Finnegans Wake to music. This solo-piano passage is from the Mutt and Jute section of Finnegans Wake Chapter 1. Mutt and Jute is also included on the That Tragoady Thundersday album.

The Man I Met Once (2015)

Fairfax High School (2015)

Mr. Smolin & Double Naught Spy Car join forces once again for this rollicking tribute to Fairfax High School in Los Angeles CA during the 1970s.

Heaven's Not High (2013)

On his 4th album, Heaven's Not High, Mr. Smolin has teamed up with L.A.'s psychedelic surf-noir maestros Double Naught Spy Car for a blistering hot phantasmagoria of rock songs with an entheogenic bent entitled Heaven's Not High. Matching Mr. Smolin's songwriting with the fearless tripped-out jamming of Paul Lacques, Marcus Watkins, Marc Doten, & Joe Berardi, Heaven's Not High boasts 9 hook-and-groove laden tunes culminating in the album's grand finale, the epic title track, an instant freak classic.

Bring Back The Real Don Steele (2009)

Bring Back The Real Don Steele, Mr. Smolin's 3rd official release, is a Los Angeles song-cycle recorded live and unrehearsed at the funky egalitarian art gallery Echo Curio on Sunset Blvd in the city's Echo Park neighborhood. On hand to contribute to the vibe are veteran L.A. musicians Probyn Gregory on guitar, Paul Lacques raging away on lap-steel, Vince Meghrouni blowing sax, flute, and harmonica, wunderkind bass monster Miles Mosley, drummer Brandon Jay, as well Mr. Smolin's angelic choir of Harvey Canter, Patria Jacobs, and Chris Rael. Harking back to the days when boss jock The Real Don Steele ruled the AM airwaves on 93 KHJ but also very much steeped in the present and future of the city, the 13 songs on Bring Back The Real Don Steele attempt to capture the essence of Los Angeles, its sights, sounds, and smells, that permeating admixture of monoxide, tar, and taco sauce. Best heard while looking out the window of a moving car. Featuring "Boss Radio," "Rainy Franklin Day," "Veronica Lake," "Scarecrow Jesus," "Welcome To Nowheresville" and a host of other Southland-themed ditties. Once again, Gary Baseman provides the album art.

Weeds: Music From The Series Vol. 3 (2008)

Mr. Smolin's song "The Earth Keeps Turning On" appears on the Weeds Season 3 Soundtrack Album, a compilation of the finest music from Season 3 of the popular Showtime television series

The Crumbling Empire Of White People (2007)

An earth-answer to the outerspace journey of At Apogee, Mr. Smolin's second official release is Shmo's take on love and loss, politics, religion, and other burdens of our age. Dizzy with a world in retrograde, the only superpower teetering under the weight of its own excess, Mr. Smolin has applied his insightful mind and melodic grace toward concocting this latest batch of apocalyptic pop songs, a brain-tonic laced with luscious production and whopping awesome fun, the perfect soundtrack for those seeking illumination, mindfulness, wit, heart, and a real good time. Features "Mata Hari," "Face The World," "Tilting," "Knock This Gulag Down" and a bunch more Shmotunes as well. Once again produced by Stew. Album art by Gary Baseman.

Crumbling Empire Album Extras (2007)

Alternate takes from Mr. Smolin's album The Crumbling Empire Of White People

At Apogee (2004)

Mr. Smolin's debut album. A lush, non-linear song-cycle produced by Stew. With its Kierkegaardian vibe and lonesome echoes, At Apogee is a story of distance giving way to proximity, of a disembodied hero succumbing to the gravity of Love. Highlights include "The Earth Keeps Turning On," "Angels," "Casper," "The Rodeo" and many more. Village Voice music critic Richard Gehr has dubbed Smolin's style on At Apogee "psychedelic cabaret music."